home -  Musicians -  People  -  Music  - Setups  -  Locations -  Playlist  - 1964 -  1965 -  1966  - Sources
THE TORIES Year 1964
<< THE TORIESat Heideschlößchen in summer 1964 - CLICK for higher resolution
>>
Photo: Private - (c)The Tories 1964

Gigs couldn't be planned until Reinhard Bock and Micky Zeitner had successfully finished their final school exams ("Abitur") - but practising chords and scales were both possible and neccessary despite all exam stress: Hagen talked Bock into taking over the bass in the new formation by Hagen. That meant doodeling bass scales over and over for him - he and Micky accomplished the exams anyhow in February 1964.

On March 28, The Tories had their first public appearance at Spandau Schützenhof. Shortly before, Hucky and Bokens had swapped instruments again, the bass guitar went back into Hucky's hands, Bokens played Hucky's 9-string Framus Melodie from than on. In April and May, The Tories performed in a Spandau beer bar every saturday and from the summer of 1964 onwards they played every weekend: In July 1964 they started a two month engagement at Hakenfelde "Heideschloß". Hagen had negotiated an hourly rate of 10 marks for each member - an exceptionally good pay for an amateur band in those days! Additionally, the arrangement included that exactly at midnight the innkeeper's wife served an aspic cutlet, a big beer and a coffee "auf Haus" (for free).
After that midnight break, mainly smoochy blues were played, long slow pieces with a lot of improvised solo's ("If You Need Me", "Little Red Rooster" by The Rolling Stones, instrumentals by The Shadows ("Peace Pipe"), exceptionally played by Bokens.

In late 1964, The Tories won their first band competition at Spandau Casaleon, 1965 followed quite a number of first and second places at many more clubs all over Berlin.

back
deutsche Version next

home -  Musiker -  Menschen  -  Musik  - Setups  -  Locations -  Playlist  - 1964 -  1965 -  1966  - Quellen
THE TORIES Das Jahr 1964
<< Die Tories 1964 im Heideschlößchen - mit KLICK zum größeren Bild
>>
Foto: NN - (c)The Tories 1964

Auftritte konnten erst für die Zeit nach Bocks und Zeitners Abitur geplant werden, heimliches Üben trotz Abistress war aber möglich und nötig: Bock hatte sich für die neue Formation von Hagen den E-Bass aufschwatzen lassen und so nudelte er stundenlang Bassläufe runter - Mickys und Bokens schafften dennoch das Abitur im Februar 1964.

Die Tories hatten dann im Spandauer Schützenhof am 28. März 1964 ihren ersten öffentlichen Auftritt. Zuvor hatten Hucky und Bokens doch wieder Bass und 9-Saiter getauscht. Im April und Mai folgten Auftritte in einer Spandauer Bierkneipe und Mitte 1964 spielten sie schon jedes Wochende. Im Juli 1964 traten die Tories ein zweimonatiges Wochend-Engangement im Hakenfelder "Heideschloß" an. Hagen hatte auch dort wieder 10 Mark Stundengage für jeden ausgehandelt, ein gutes Honorar für Amateurmusiker in jenen Tagen. Zum Arrangement gehörte, dass die Wirtin um Mitternacht ein Sülzkottelett, ein großes Bier und ein Set Kaffee "auf Haus" servierte.
Danach wurde Schmuseblues gespielt, lange und langsame Stücke mit vielen Soli ("If You Need Me", "Little Red Rooster" von den Rolling Stones, Instrumentals von den Shadows ("Peace Pipe"), bei denen Bokens ausnahmsweise die Melodiegitarre übernahm.

Die Tories wurden im Spandauer Casaleon Sieger im Bandwettbewerb, diesem Sieg folgten 1965 noch viele erste und zweite Plätze folgten.

zurück
English version weiter