home -  Musicians -  People  -  Music  - Setups  -  Locations -  Playlist  - 1964 -  1965 -  1966  - Sources
THE TORIES Rumpelbeat
<< THE TORIES at Lindenhof Tempelhof - CLICK for a higher resolution
>>
THE TORIES at Lindenhof, Photo: Private (c)The Tories 1965

In 1965/66 THE TORIES developed their own typical sound. In the beginning, to be successful with the German teenage fans, they had imitated sound and intonation of the British beat bands , but then destilled their own sound which jokingly was called "RUMPELBEAT".

This so called Rumpelbeat was created by Reinhard B's way of playing the rythm guitar where he only played the first three or four top strings while damping the strings almost totally and turning up his Vox AC30 as loud as technically and location related possible - this meant almost to the end of the scale! This play mode produced a hollow splashy sound which mingled perfectly with the heavy bass lines and bold drum beats (with a predominant use of Tom Toms) - what a clastic loud rythm sound!
Amazingly this sound sound was not easily recorded: On the tape and cassette recordings you had to take back the input so much not to get a scratchy distorted over steering record, the tape dynamics couldn't handle that noise level at all. Even with the studio takes, as to be heard on the B-side of single ("Oho"), this sound is almost unrecognizable as the sound engineer wanted to reproduce a "clear" beat sound.

When a Starlighters' poster announced "The Tories with Rumpel-Beat", Reinhard B's mother asked if there was a new member, a 5th man in the band, named Beat, a man she never had heard of before. No, no, they had no new member, but RUMPEL-BEAT was now part of THE TORIES.

back
deutsche Version next

home -  Musiker -  Menschen  -  Musik  - Setups  -  Locations -  Playlist  - 1964 -  1965 -  1966  - Quellen
THE TORIES Rumpelbeat
<< Die Tories in der Niebuhrstraße - mit KLICK zum großen Bild
>>
The Tories im Lindenhof, Foto: Privataufnahme (c)The Tories 1965

The Tories entwickelten 1965/66 ihren eigenen, für sie typischen Sound. Zunächst hatten sie Sound und Intonation der englischen Beatbands imitiert, um Erfolg beim Teenagerpublikum zu haben, dann kristallierte sich zunehmend ihr eigener Sound heraus, den sie scherzhaft RUMPELBEAT nannten.

Dieser so genannte Rumpelbeat kam dadurch zustande, dass Reinhard B. den Rythmus nur auf den ersten vier oder fünf Saiten schlug und dabei einerseits die Saitenschwingungen auf der Brücke mit dem Handballen fast völlig abdämpfte und andererseits den Vox AC30 so laut aufriss, wie von der Location her erträglich war - also möglichst bis zum Anschlag. Das ließ einen dumpfen klatschenden Sound entstehen, der sich mit dem Bass und dem Schlagzeug (bei häufigem Einsatz der TomToms) zu einem für die damals machbaren Watt-Verhältnisse brechend lauten Rythmus ergänzte.
Leider ist dieser Sound auf den damals mitgeschnittenen Tonband- bzw. Cassettenaufnahmen nicht eingefangen, weil die Banddynamik das nicht hergab. Auch auf der B-Seite der Single ("Oho") ist er kaum zu erkennen, da die Studio-Regie auf einem sauberen Beat-Sound bestand.

Als ein Starlighters-Plakat die Tories "mit Rumpel-Beat" angekündigte, fragte Reinhard Bs Mutter, ob die Band einen 5ten Mann, den Beat, habe, den kenne sie ja gar nicht. Nein, hatten sie nicht, aber der Rumpel-Beat gehörte jetzt dazu.

zurück
English version weiter