home -  Musicians -  People  -  Music  - Setups  -  Locations -  Playlist  - 1964 -  1965 -  1966  - Sources
THE TORIES Year 1965
<< THE TORIES at Britz Buschkrugcasino, 1965 - CLICK for higher resolution
>>
Photo: NN - (c)The Tories 1965

During 1965, The Tories played Friday through Sunday: Locations like "Zillertal" in Wedding Müllerstraße, "Casaleon" in Spandau and in Neukölln, and that famous Rudow "Top Ten Club" attracted enough teens and twens over the weekend to pay for the bands. The youngsters usually had to pay 2 marks entry fee and additionally to that they were urged to consum one drink at least.
The steady flow of money income encouraged the band to invest in a complete new Vox equipment - the sound of which essentially increased the prestige of The Tories, alas, debt too. Each of them paid 50 to 100 marks a week, consequently all of them wanted to gig as often as possible.

On Wednesday evenings, if no there was no booking on that specific day, the band met for rehearsals at a Haselhorst youth club. New pieces like "Satisfaction" by The Rolling Stones or "No No No No" by The Sorrows had to be arranged und practised. To scan the lyrics of new songs snapped up through airplay by allied radio stations like BFBS or AFN (or from LPs, that Mulle brought along) was quite a drag. Ede Winter was the only one to possess a tape recorder, that he brought with him to the Haselhorst youth club, if Hucky picked him up by trusted old Lizzy, the VW van. Every new hit song from England was rehearsed and played to the fans as soon as possible, mainly the subsequent weekend.

The fans honored that with fidelity: The Tories had an entourage of 40 to 50 fans, where during competitions the female core of that rooted for The Tories by screaming as loud as possible as soon as The Tories hit the stage.

back
deutsche Version next

home -  Musiker -  Menschen  -  Musik  - Setups  -  Locations -  Playlist  - 1964 -  1965 -  1966  - Quellen
THE TORIES Das Jahr 1965
<< Die Tories 1965 im Britzer Buschkrugcasino - mit KLICK zum größeren Bild
>>
Foto: NN - (c)The Tories 1965

Im Laufe des Jahres 1965 war dann das komplette Wochenende Tory-Time: Die Lokale wie das Zillertal in der Weddinger Müllerstraße, das Spandauer und Neuköllner Casaleon, der Top Ten Club in Rudow zogen übers Wochenende genug Teenager und Twens in die Läden, um aus den 2 Mark Eintritt und dem Getränkeverzehr Live-Bands bezahlen zu können.
Die Band leistete sich eine komplette Vox-Anlage, deren Sound zum Fame der Tories nicht unwesentlich beitrug, aber auch zur Verschuldung. Jeder zahlte 50 bis 100 Mark pro Woche ab, alle Tories, auch Ede Winter durch ein neues Ludwig Set, wollten möglichst viele Stunden pro Woche auftreten.
Mittwochs, nach Feierabend, war - wenn kein Auftritt für diesen Tag anlag - Übungsabend im Jugendheim am Haselhorster Sportplatz. Neue Stücke wie "Satisfaction" von den Stones, "No No No No" von den Sorrows wurden dort abgesprochen und eingeübt. Das Abhören der Texte der meist im BFBS oder AFN aufgeschnappten Songs (bzw. von Platten, die Mulle anschleppte), gestaltete sich sehr schwierig. Nur Ede Winter hatte ein Tonbandgerät, was er, wenn Hucky ihn mit dem Lizzy, unserem VW-Bus abholte, in den Übungsraum mitbrachte. So wurde jeder neue Hit, der aus England kam, sofort einstudiert und so schnell wie möglich, am besten am selben Wochenende den Fans vorgespielt.

Die Fans dankten es mit ihrer Treue: Die Tories wurden stets von 40 bis 50 Fans begleitet, wobei der weibliche Fankern bei Wettbewerben mit lautem Kreischen die Stimmung anheizte, sobald die Tories die Bühne betraten.

zurück
English version weiter